Lost in Retrospect: The Moth

Another episode that backs off the mythology, “The Moth” is certainly good, and I quite like Charlie, but he’s not as strong as the Kwons or Locke, and as such this straight-up character study isn’t as compelling as previous episodes.

For a refresh on this episode, I suggest you visit Lostpedia’s excellent Wiki page.

The flashbacks, while illuminating, are an old tale. He’s relatively tame. He gets famous. He fails to check himself, and subsequently wrecks himself. His relationship with Liam Gallagher Pace is the most original and subsequently the most interesting part of the flashbacks. Constantly pushing Charlie into a terrible lifestyle before practically abandoning him to it, despite genuinely caring about him… it’s brutal, because as much as I might not want to, I can imagine family members doing that to me.

Kate, Sayid and Sawyer’s little excursion was ultimately pointless, but offered up some interesting nuggets of entertainment. Sayid points out, and not for the first time, that their situation is impossible. The plane crash was catastrophically dangerous; 48 people should not have walked away practically unharmed. In season six, we get the revelation that the Losties pretty much have plot armour from everything except themselves, and I wonder if that idea had been in place this early.

The cave-in story was cliched. Well-done, yes, but cliched. There’s no suspense, nothing particularly original, and while I like that Charlie got to step up and contribute, I wish there had been some other scenario. I will give props to the writers, though, for coming up with some reason for Charlie to go into the hole other than “I’m the only guy small enough!”.

And we get more of Sawyer being a complete douchebag. On purpose. I’m struggling to think of a more self-destructive character, someone with less self-worth. But more on that in “Confidence Man”.

I don’t have much to say about this episode. It’s really a lot like Charlie. It’s enjoyable, but a bit messy and a bit cliched. And I like it, but it’s not as strong as other offerings, as a consequence of hanging everything on a few overused plot devices. Not one I’ll go out of my way to avoid, but not one I’m gonna fondly go back to at the earliest convenience.

Leave a Reply

